Full Time Faculty

The Institute is organized as research groups and education programs, and has not maintained strong department boundaries. However, faculty can be broadly grouped according to their disciplines which are given below. Apart from those listed below, the institute also has a number of Guest, Adjunct and Visiting faculty members in various disciplines. They can be found on this page.

Click below to display faculty members from a specific discipline.

All
CSE
ECE
Computational Biology
Mathematics
Social Sciences
Design

A V Subramanyam
Assistant Professor (CSE, ECE, DES)
subramanyam@iiitd.ac.in

PhD(2012), Computer Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Information Hiding, Image and Video Forensics

Aasim Khan
Assistant Professor (SS)
aasim@iiitd.ac.in

PhD, King's College London is on the sociology and politics of communications rights in India and the impact of the Internet

Social scientist with an interest in theories of the 'public sphere,' digital citizenship and civic media in India

Alexander Fell
Assistant Professor (ECE)
alex@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2012), Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

Coarse Grain Reconfigurable Architectures (CGRAs), Network-on-Chip, Embedded Systems, FPGAs

Amarjeet Singh
(Presently on Leave)

Assistant Professor (CSE, ECE)
amarjeet@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Electrical Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Mobile Sensing, Approximation Algorithms, Environmental Monitoring, Low Cost Technologies

Anand Srivastava
Professor (ECE)
anand@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2003), Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

OFDM based Optical Core and Access Networks, Long Reach PONs, Optical Wireless Communication Systems, Fi-Wi Architectures, Optical Signal Processing, Green Telecom Networks

Angshul Majumdar
Assistant Professor (ECE)
angshul@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2012), Electrical & Computer Engg., University of British Columbia

Compressed Sensing, Low-rank matrix recovery, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Color Imaging

Anubha Gupta
Associate Professor (ECE)
anubha@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D. (2006), Indian Institute of Technology-Delhi

Statistical Signal Processing, Biomedical Signal and Image Processing, Wavelet Transform and its applications, Higher education policy and Assessment

Anuradha Sharma
Associate Professor (Applied Maths)
anuradha@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D.(2006), Mathematics, Panjab University, Chandigarh, India

Algebraic Coding Theory, Number Theory and Algebra

Arun Balaji Buduru
Assistant Professor (CSE)
arunb@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2016), Computer Science, Arizona State University, USA

Research focuses on adaptive user re-authentication on touch-based devices, predicting security breaches in critical cyber infrastructures, and user behavior based adaptive IoT device reconfiguration.

Chetan Arora
Assistant Professor (CSE)
chetan@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2012), Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi

Computer Vision, Image Processing, Machine Learning

Debajyoti Bera
Assistant Professor (CSE, CB)
dbera@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Computer Science, Boston University, USA

Quantum Computing, Complexity Theory, Algorithms, Cryptography

Debarka Sengupta
Assistant Professor (CSE, CB)
debarka@iiitd.ac.in

PhD in Computer Science and Engineering from Jadavpur University

His U.S. patent on applied social choice theory was awarded by the patent monetization giant Intellectual Ventures.

Donghoon Chang
Assistant Professor (CSE, Applied Maths)
donghoon@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2008), Information Management and Security, Korea University, Korea

Theory and Practice of Cryptography, Cryptanalysis, Cyber Security

Ganesh Bagler
Assistant Professor (CB)
bagler@iiitd.ac.in

PhD in computational biology from CSIR-Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology

Complex Systems, Computational and Systems Biology, Complex Networks, Bioinformatics

Mayank Vatsa
Associate Professor (CSE)
mayank@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2008), Computer Science, West Virginia University, USA

Biometrics, Computer Vision, Image Processing, Information Fusion

Mohammad S. Hashmi
Associate Professor (ECE)
mshashmi@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Electronics Engineering, Cardiff University, UK

RF Measurements, PA Design and Linearization, RF Systems, Software Defined Radio

Mukulika Maity
(Presently on Leave)

Assistant Professor(CSE)
mukulika@iiitd.ac.in

PhD in Computer Science from IIT Bombay

wireless networks and mobile computing

Naqueeb Warsi
(Presently on Leave)

Assistant Professor (ECE, Applied Maths)
naqueeb@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2015), Information Theory from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Classical and quantum information theory, particularly information theoretic problems in the non-asymptotic regime.

Ojaswa Sharma
Assistant Professor (CSE, DES)
ojaswa@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2010), Mathematics and Computer Science, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Computer graphics (animation, rendering, and GPU computing), computational geometry

P B Sujit
Assistant Professor (ECE)
sujit@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2006), Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Unmanned Vehicle (aerial, underwater, and surface), Multi-robot systems, Guidance and Control

Pankaj Jalote
Director & Professor (CSE)
jalote@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (1985), Computer Science, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Software Engineering, Fault Tolerance, Distributed Systems

Ponnurangam Kumaraguru
Associate Professor (CSE)
pk@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Cyber Crime, Cyber/Information Security, Privacy, Human Computer Interaction

Pravesh Biyani
Assistant Professor (ECE)
praveshb@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2012), ECE, IIT Delhi

Optimization for signal processing & communications

Pushpendra Singh
Associate Professor (CSE, DES)
psingh@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2004), Inria-Rennes, University de Rennes 1, France

Mobile Systems & Applications, ICT4D, Mobile Healthcare, Content-Centric Networking

Pydi Ganga Mamba Bahubalindruni
Assistant Professor (ECE)
bpganga@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2014), Electrical and Computer Engineering,

Faculty of Engineering, University of Porto, Portugal

Rahul Purandare
Assistant Professor (CSE)
purandare@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2011), Computer Science, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, USA

Software Engineering, Program Analysis, Runtime Verification, Specification Mining, Automatic Program Repair

Rajiv Raman
Assistant Professor (CSE, CB, Applied Maths)
rajiv@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2007), Computer Science, University of Iowa, USA

Algorithms, Graphs, Combinatorial Optimization

Richa Singh
Associate Professor (CSE)
rsingh@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2008), Computer Science, West Virginia University, USA

Biometrics, Machine Learning, Pattern Recognition

Saket Anand
Assistant Professor (CSE, ECE)
anands@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2013), Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rutgers University, NJ, USA

Computer Vision, Image and Scene Understanding, Robust Statistical Methods, Pattern Recognition, Machine Learning

Sambuddho Chakravarty
Assistant Professor (CSE)
sambuddho@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2014), Columbia University, USA

Network Anonymity and Privacy, Network Surveillance and Anti-Censorship and Network and Distributed Systems Security

Sanjit Krishnan Kaul
Assistant Professor (ECE)
skkaul@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2011), Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rutgers University, USA

Wireless Systems, Vehicular Networks, Delay Tolerant Networks, Disaster Management, Intelligent Transportation

Sarthok Sircar
Assistant Professor (Applied Maths)
sarthok@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Applied Mathematics from University of South Carolina.

Multiscale models and robust numerical algorithms for complex systems

Shobha Sundar Ram
Assistant Professor (ECE)
shobha@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Electrical Engineering, University of Texas at Austin

Electromagnetic sensor conceptualization, model and design, sensor circuit design and signal processing algorithms

Shriram Venkatraman
Assistant Professor (SS)
shriramv@iiitd.ac.in

Doctoral candidate at the Department of Anthropology, University College London

Technologies in work places, organisational culture, and entrepreneurship

Sneh Saurabh
Assistant Professor (ECE)
sneh@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2012), Electrical Engineering, IIT, Delhi

Nanoelectronics, Exploratory Electronic Devices, Energy-Efficient Systems, VLSI Design and Verification and CAD for VLSI.

Somitra Kr. Sanadhya
Assistant Professor (CSE, Applied Maths)
somitra@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Computer Science, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

Cryptology, Machine learning and Bioinformatics

Sriram K
Assistant Professor (CB)
sriramk@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2004), Chemistry, IIT Madras

Systems biology, Cell division cycle, Circadian rhythms, Computational cognitive neuroscience

Subhadip Raychaudhuri
Assistant Professor (CB)
subhadip@iiitd.ac.in

Phd (2002), University of Rochester, USA

Computational biology and biophysics, systems biology of cell death (apoptosis) signaling, immunobiology of B cell activation

Sujay Deb
Assistant Professor (ECE)
sdeb@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2012), Washington State University

Multi-core processor architectures, Wireless network on-chip, Emerging interconnection technologies for multi-core chips

Sumit J Darak
Assistant Professor (ECE)
sumit@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2013), Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore

Reconfigurable filter and filter banks for multi-standard wireless communication receivers, Dynamic Spectrum Learning, Tunable Bandwidth Access and RF Harvesting in Green Cognitive Radios.

Tavpritesh Sethi
Assistant Professor (CB)
tavpriteshsethi@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D. from CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi

Big-data for clinical decision support, machine learning for critical care and community medicine, human physiology and Teaching Interests are Statistical, complex networks and machine learning modelling for medicine and biology, human physiology.

Venkata M. Viswanath Gunturi
Assistant Professor (CSE)
gunturi@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2015), Computer Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, USA

Spatial and Spatio-temporal databases, Spatial data mining, Graph Algorithms, Geographic Information Science

Vibhor Kumar
Assistant Professor (CB)
vibhor@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2007) from Helsinki University of Technology (now Aalto), Finland

Working on chromatin states and gene regulation and applying his findings to other branches such as clinical sciences and stem cell study.

Vikram Goyal
Associate Professor (CSE)
vikram@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2009), Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Delhi

Databases, Data Privacy and Security

Vinayak Naik
Associate Professor (CSE)
naik@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2006), Computer Science and Engineering, Ohio State University, USA

Mobile Computing, Sensor Networks, Wireless Networks, and Systems

Vivek Bohara
Assistant Professor (ECE)
vivek.b@iiitd.ac.in

PhD(2011), Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Wireless communication, Cognitive and Cooperative wireless networks, Wideband Power amplifiers, Digital predistortion

Vivek Kumar
Assistant Professor (CSE)
vivekk@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D. (2014), Research School of Computer Science, Australian National University

Parallel programming models and runtime systems


Visiting Faculty


Akshay Kumar
akshay@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D. University of Delhi (2014) Senior Research Fellow Indian Council of Medical Research"

Consultant Psychologist BLK Super Speciality Hospital, Franchise owner of "Men are from Mars Womwn ae Venus" Asia pacific region

Amrit Srinivasan
amrit@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D. University of Cambridge, UK

Recipient of the Commonwealth Scholarship Award, the Shastri Indo Canadian Fellowship Award, the Charles Wallace India Trust Award and the ICCR's Visiting Chair in Humanities & Social Sciences Award

Ashok K. Mittal
ashok@iiitd.ac.in

Vice-president, Quality Circle Forum of India

Retired Professor & Dean (R&D, PRG) IIT Kanpur Operations Research/ Management ; Intellectual Property

Brijesh Eshpuniyani
beshpuniyani@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (2003), Aeronautics, Purdue University

His area of expertise is Fluid Mechanics. His present research focus is on Transition & Turbulence.

Dheeraj Sanghi
dheeraj@iiitd.ac.in
Dean of Academic Affairs

PhD from University of Maryland, College Park, USA.

Research interests: Networking - Protocols and Security.

G.S. Visweswaran
viswes@iiitd.ac.in

Retired Professor from IIT-Delhi

CAD of VLSI, Design of Digital, Analog and Mixed Signal VLSI Circuits

Hemant Kumar
hemant@iiitd.ac.in

Founder - Softek Ltd., VP at HCL Tech. BTech(1977), IIT Kanpur

Software Development, Compilers, Databases, Inventory Management and Banking Software [Since June 2011]

Jyoti Sinha
jyotisinha@iiitd.ac.in

Co-founder and CTO at Omnipresent Robot Tech. MS (Computer Science) from Technical University of Munich (TUM), Germany/ University of California Berkeley (UCB), USA

Multi-robot communication, Robotic coordination and scheduling, ad hoc wireless networks, smart Medium access protocols

K M Pathi
kmpathi@iiitd.ac.in

Research interests: Behavior Change Communication, Communication Ethics.

An alumnus of Delhi University, visiting faculty to National Centre for Good Governance (Delhi), Central Training Establishment, Air India, (Hyderabad). Also an empanelled training faculty with Larson & Toubro, Tamilnadu Salt Corporation.

K.K. Biswas
kkb@iiitd.ac.in
Former Professor, IIT Delhi,

Machine Learning, Computer Vision

Research interest is Image and Video Processing, Machine Learning with applications in activity recognition and Bio-informatics Also has interest in Software Engineering, where he is trying to discover ambiguities in Requirements Engineering documents.

Manohar Khushalani
manohar@iiitd.ac.in

Bacherlor in Civil Engineering from BITS Pilani Courses on 3D Modelling and Finite Element analysis from IIT, Delhi

Former Director, Environment and Sociology, at the National Water Academy, Khadakwasla, & Member Secretary, National Environmental Monitoring Committee for River Valley Projects

Pankaj Vajpayee
pvajpayee@iiitd.ac.in

Has over 22 years of corporate experience primarily in the field of investment banking and portfolio investment advisory activities

Rahul Nagpal
rahuln@iiitd.ac.in

MS and PhD in Computer Science from Indian Institute of Science.

His research interest is in the area of compilers and parallel computing.

Raj Ayyar
raj@iiitd.ac.in

Full time Assistant Professor, East Florida State University

Adjunct Faculty, West Valley College and Laney College MA (Philosophy), St. Stephen's College, Delhi MA (Philosophy), Southern Illinois University, USA

Rajiv Ratn Shah
(Presently on Leave)

rajivratn@iiitd.ac.in

Doctor of Philosophy, National University of Singapore (NUS), Singapore.

Research interest in semantics and sentics understanding of user-generated multimedia content (UGC), multimodal analysis of UGC in support of social media applications, location-based services in the support of social media applications etc.

Samaresh Chatterji
samaresh@iiitd.ac.in

PhD (1979), Mathematics, Wayne State University, Detroit

Former Dean - Academic Programs, DA-IICT, Gandhinagar Abstract Algebra, Graph Theory [Since Jan 2013]

Srikanth Saripalli
srikkanth@iiitd.ac.in

Ph.D., University of Southern California, 2007

Srikanth Saripalli is a Roboticist with research interests in unmanned systems in general and aerial vehicles in particular.